The purpose of these tables is to maintain a schedule of scientific talks and discussions relevant to your program.


Before you depart, PLEASE fill out an activity report and report your publications to KITP. The KITP needs feedback from the community: this not only serves help to improve and develop our services; it also provides an evaluation tool that is crucial to our continued funding.

It is also very important to acknowledge KITP for papers to which your visit contributed and, where feasible, list KITP as an institutional affiliation. All KITP activities are supported by NSF PHY11-25915.

Go to current week.⬇

Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 4
1:30pm
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting


2:00pm
Aud
Shmuel Rubinstein, Harvard
Dynamics of paper crumpling and crumpled paper

Tue, Jan 5
10:30am
SSR
Eran Sharon, Hebrew Univ
Non-Euclidean Plates Under Load: The Ultra Soft Minimal Spring

Thurs, Jan 7
10:30am
SSR
Mehran Kardar, MIT
Pressure from non-equilibrium fluctuations

Fri, Jan 8
10:30am
Aud
Todd Squires, UCSB, and Joseph Zasadzinski, Minnesota
Relating monolayer morphology to interfacial shear rheology

Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 11
1:30pm
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting


1:45pm
Aud
Noam Kaplan, UMASS MED
3D Genome I
References and comments

3:45pm
Aud
Shura Grosberg, NYU
3D Genome II
details...
Tue, Jan 12
10:30am
Aud
David Nelson, Harvard
Thermalized sheets and shells: topology matters

Wed, Jan 13
2:00pm
Aud
Phillip Schewe
Physics by Press Conference: How discoveries get announced
Journalist in Residence talk
Thurs, Jan 14
2:00pm
Aud
Daniel Beller, Harvard
Plastic deformation of tubular crystals by dislocation glide

Fri, Jan 15
1:30pm
Aud
Francisco Guinea, CSIC
Research talk on graphene as a membrane, followed by a discussion

Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 18


US Holiday


Tue, Jan 19
10:30am
Aud
John Gemmer, Brown
Isometric Immersions, Energy Minimization and Branch Points in Non-Euclidean Elastic Sheets


11:00am
Aud
Norbert Stoop, MIT
An effective theory for the wrinkling of curved elastic bilayer systems

Tue, Jan 19
4:00 PM
SSR
Paco Guinea, CSIC
An informal/introductory ("soft matter dummies") lecture on band structure, gauge field, and strain engineering in graphene (follow-up on last Fri's talk)

Wed, Jan 20
9:00am
SSR
Jorn Dunkel, MIT
Bacterial "sheets" discussion group

Thurs, Jan 21
1:30pm
Aud
Ariel Amir, Harvard
Mechanics of cell wall growth in bacteria

Fri, Jan 22
1:30pm
Aud
Elisabetta Matsumoto, Harvard
Phytomimetic 4D Printing

Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 25
10:30am
Aud
Tim Atherton, Tufts
Jamming on Evolving Surfaces


12:15pm
Aud
Tom Lubensky, Penn
Director's Blackboard Lunch: Topological Mechanics and Phononics

Tue, Jan 26
10:30am
Aud
Bryan Chen, UMASS
Mechanisms and nonlinear waves from topological modes

Thurs, Jan 28
1:30pm
Aud
Greg Grason, UMASS
Surveying the metric geometry of filamentous matter: Defects and instabilities of incompatible bundles

Fri, Jan 29
1:30pm
Aud
Joshua Shaevitz, Princeton
Understanding bacterial growth in 3D

Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 1
10:30am
Aud
Narayanan Menon, UMASS
Wrapping fluids with thin sheets

Tue, Feb 2
10:30am
Aud
Xiaoming Mao, Michigan
Critical mechanical structures: topology and entropy

Thurs, Feb 4
1:30pm
Aud
Dganit Danino, Technion
Self-Assembly of Peptides and Lipids into 1D Nanostructures

Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 8
10:30am
Aud
Joseph Paulsen, Syracuse
The wavelength of wrinkles in curved tensioned sheets

Tue, Feb 9
10:30am
Aud
William Irvine, Chicago
Topological mechanics of gyroscopic meta-materials

Wed, Feb 10
1:30pm
Aud
Martine Ben Amar, Ecole Normale Superieure
Inflammatory processes and bio-mechanics

Thurs, Feb 11
1:30pm
Aud
Christoph Haselwandter, USC
Assembly, Architecture, and Collective Function of Membrane Protein Lattices

Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 15


US Holiday


Tue, Feb 16
10:30am
Aud
Anne Bernheim, Ben-Gurion Univ
The dynamics of buckling of self-organizing elastic sheets

Tue, Feb 16
1:30pm
SSR
Jean-Pierre Hébert, KITP artist in residence
Discussions about the sheet-like images on KITP walls, and potential for 3D self-furling sheets as an expressive medium
ref
confirmed
Wed, Feb 17
1:30pm
Aud
William Klug, UCLA
Structure and dynamics of defects and scars in the protein shells of viruses

Thurs, Feb 18
1:30pm
Aud
Arshad Kudrolli, Clark Univ
Experiments on ribbons with a twist

Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 22
10:30am
Aud
Mark Bowick, Syracuse
The Statistical Mechanics of Sliced Graphene Ribbons


12:15pm
Aud
Tom Witten, Chicago
Director's Blackboard Lunch: Puzzling integrability in compressional folding

Tue, Feb 23
10:30am
Aud
Cristina Marchetti, Syracuse
Jamming in cell monolayers

Tue,
Feb 23
4:00pm
Broida
1604
Eran Sharon, Hebrew Univ
Physics Colloquium: The Geometry and Mechanics of Growing Elastic Sheets
refreshments at 3:40pm
Thurs, Feb 25
1:30pm
Aud
Simon Guest, Cambridge
Counting rules for periodic frameworks

Fri, Feb 26
10:30am
SSR
Robin Selinger, Kent State
Modeling dynamics of shape transformation in "blueprinted" liquid crystal elastomers

Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 29
10:30am
Aud
Andrej Kosmrlj, Princeton
Statistical mechanics of ribbons and thin spherical shells

Tue, Mar 1
10:30am
Aud
Avadh Saxena, LANL
Topology and Geometry Effects in Graphene Nanoribbons and Chiral Magnets

Thurs,
Mar 3
1:30pm
Aud
Etienne Couturier, Univ Paris Diderot
Three studies of inert and growing vegetal thin shells

Fri, Mar 4
10:30am
SSR
Eleni Katifori, Penn, and Carl Modes, Rockefeller
Looping through spatially embedded networks

Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 7
10:30am
Aud
Shankar Venkataramani, Arizona
Limit problems for thin sheets: A mathematical perspective

Tue, Mar 8
10:30am
Aud
Douglas Holmes, Boston Univ
Swelling and Growth of Thin Sheets and Shells

Wed., Mar 9
10:30am
SSR
Michael Moshe, Syracuse
The geometry and mechanics of real and fictitious elastic charges


*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room FR=Founders' Room





⬆TOP

Mechanics of cell wall growth in bacteria
Isometric Immersions, Energy Minimization and Branch Points in Non-Euclidean Elastic Sheets